Upcoming Events

  • Sat, Apr 26 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm:“Raw Food Smoothies with Kale” by Chef 7 Star
  • Fri, May 2 6:30 pm – 8:30 pm:Tilthy Rich: How a biker, food scraps and a farmer co-op teamed up to make dirt
  • Fri, May 16 6:30 pm – 8:30 pm:"Are We Wired for Violence or Cooperation? -Evidence from "The Human Genome" by Mort Malkin
More »

Recyclique/CommunEcos Calendar

Recyclique/CommunEcos Calendar -

Fri. April 18, 6:30 pm  LIVING  AMONG COOPERATIVES:  REFLECTIONS  FROM  MONDRAGON  with Juan Tellería.

Sat. April 19, 2-4 pm “Make it Funky: The Art of Marketing for Creative Businesses”, by Maya Jackson.

Sat. April 26, 2-4 pm Raw Food: A Fruit Smoothy with Kale Salad by Chef 7 Star, $12 suggested donation,  RSVP: illum7ination@yahoo.com.

Fri. May 2, 6:30 pmTilthy Rich: The journey of a bicycle-powered compost company. By Chris Russo.

Fri. May 16, 6:30 pmAre We Wired for Violence or Cooperation? – Evidence from the Human Genome”  By Mort Malkin.

Fri. May 23,  6:30 pm“Tales from the Black Latrine:  Humanure & Black Soldier Fly Larvae”by Max Rice and John Mattox.

The EcoLounge Café serves light faire before Friday events starting at 6 pm.

Unless otherwise noted, all events are at Recyclique, 2811 Hillsborough Rd., Durham 27705.  Most events rely on suggested donations, usually $5, or as noted. Parking is available in the rear and next door in the Food Lion lot.

———————————————

Early Spring 2014 events

Sat. Mar. 22, 2-4 pmVegetable Gardening Workshopled by Harry Phillips. Learn what to plant when, and how to make it thrive!  $5-8 suggested donations.

Fri. Mar. 28, 6:30 pmRe-Imagining Communityfinal session in the popular series by Ruth Backstrom & Kay Joyner. A Transition Durham event.—-

Fri. April 4, 6:30 pm “Pranic Healing:  A Primer and Demonstration” Bring your aches and pains. Meditation session will follow healings. $10 suggested donation; Please RSVP: yikes.contact@gmail.com

Sat. April 12, 2-4 pm “How to build a Solar Thermal Space Heater in your Garage”by Daniel Bossut. $10 suggested donation, Please RSVP: yikes.contact@gmail.com

Winter 2013-14

Sat. Dec. 21, 5 pm – 8 pm, “Solstice Creativity-Slam Potluck”(BYOB) for friends of Recyclique/CommunEcos & Transition Durham . Bring a trick, poem, song, special skill or other creative thing to share!  Prizes!

Fri. Dec. 27, 6:30 pm, “Oil and Money” (on why new oil discoveries will not restore the US economy) by Sandy Smith-Nonini,  Anthropology Dept., UNC.

Sat. Jan. 4, 2-4 pm, “Raw Food – Winter Treats”– by Chef 7 Star, back by popular demand!

Fri. Jan 10, 6:30 pm“Solarizing Durham & New Renewable Energy Activism” by Nick Wood, NC WARN.

Fri. Jan. 17, 6:30 pm “Articulating New Collective Narratives,”by Ruth Backstrom and Kay Joyner, of Transition Durham.

 

————————————————————————————————

Recyclique/CommunEcos Calendar –Fall 2013

Fri. Nov 15, 6:30 – “Green Burials” w/ Dyanne Matzkevich, a representative of the Green Burial Council.

Sat. Nov. 16, 2-4 pm “Upcycling Jewelry for Holiday Gifts(pending)

Fri. Nov. 22, 6:30 – Film: “No Impact Man” a humorous account of Colin Beavan’s year of greening his consumption, dragging his reluctant wife and child along for the ride.  (based on his book by the same title).

Fri. Nov. 29, 6:30 – “Abrupt Climate Change: How the world we know could change in decades, not centuries”by Vasu Kilaru, Physical Scientist with the EPA’s National Exposure Research Laboratory, RTP facility.

Fri. Dec. 6, 6:30 –“Reimagining Peace on Earth,” by Betsy Crites, a longtime peace activist, formerly with NC Peace Action.

———————————————————————-

2013 CommunEcos Calendar: Spring-Summer

Sat May 4th from 2-4 pma “make-your-own-rain barrel” workshop (where you can take it home for a discount) at Recyclique 

Mon. May 6th  7:30 pm — showing of the film “Shift Change” on the cooperative workplace movement, at FullSteam Brewery, 726 Rigsbee St., Durham, w/ Suman’s Indian food, co-sponsored (w/ Transition Durham)  (see flyer)

Fri. May 10th – 6-8 pm – NC School of Science & Math students will present their sustainability fair projects – inclu. one team which debuted at the White House environmental fair last Monday and already has 11K in grant funding to manufacture a new ozone detection system! Also, solar battery charger, rain gardens, and more . .

 Fri. May 17th – 6-8 pm – Panel on Voluntary Simplicity, featuring Chris Russo, Jen Walker and Joshua Runnels, and the folks from EcoHouse. Discussion to follow.

Fri. May 24th –6-8 pm – GoMarket! Eric Bowen will introduce us to Durham’s new online CSA — Order your veggies/beer/coffee etc online, pick up at LocoPops!

Fri. May 31st, – 6-8 pm,  Japan’s Stone Gardens, a slide presentation by Dr. Norris Brock Johnson.

Sat. June 1, 5-7 pm, Saving money & energy with solar lights, by Patricia Murray.

Fri.  June 7, 6-8 pm, Film: ShiftChange

Sat. June 15, 2-5 pm, Carpool to Makers Faire

Fri. June 21, 6-8 pm – Film showing: “Kilowatt Ours”

Fri. June 28 , 6-8 pm –  How we got Tourism on the Outer Banks, by Jim Senter

Thur. July 4th & Sat. July 6 , 10-6 pm – Festival for the Eno – Rain Barrel painting booth, by the river near the dam.

Sat. July 13th – 2-4 pm – Custom DIY Buttons and Magnets with Brian John Mitchell

Sat. July 20,  2-4 pm – Lamp Repair workshop, by Nathan Swanson

Sat. July 27, 1-3 pm –Terrarium-making workshop, by Aisha Sanders

Fri. Aug. 2,  6-8 pm — Introduction to Bee-keeping, by Dave Fruchtenickt

Fri. Aug. 9, 6-8 pm — The Next American Revolution, by Ruth Backstrom

Sat. Aug. 17 – 6-8 pm – Public Banking, by Steven Peterson w/ panel.

Sat. Aug. 24,  2-4 pm – Keeping Backyard Chickens, by Lissa Lutz, Master Gardeners

Fri. Aug. 30,  6-8 pm – Genetic Modification and Food Safety, by Renee Maas, of Food and Water Watch

Fri. Sept 6, 6-8 pm – Film: Journey of the Universe, with Introduction by Herman Green of the Center for Ecozoic Societies

Fri. Sept. 13, 6-8 pm – EcoHouse: An Experiment in Sustainable Urban Living, by Gatlin Rowe

Sat. Sept. 14, 2-4 pm – Terrarium-Building Workshop, by Aisha Sanders, of Urbane Terrain

Fri. Sept. 20, 6-8 pm – Re-imagining Our Power – How to analyze and understand power and begin to use it wisely, w/ video, by Ruth Backstrom

Fri. Sept. 27, 6:30-8:30 pm – Film: Passive House: A Building Revolution, with folks knowledgeable on passive solar to lead the discussion.

———————————————————————————

Previous  Events in 2013  (not a complete list)

Fri. Jan. 4th – 6-8 pm – Earth-Wise: Thoughts & Action on Climate Futures – CommunEcos & Transition Durham members

Sat. Jan. 5th – 5-7 pm- Reception to honor our volunteers,  reflect on the last year’s  accomplishments and plans for 2013.

Sat. Jan. 12th – 2-4 pm – The Art of Caning Chairs, — Amy Todd

Fri. Jan. 18th, 6-8 pm – Building Deconstruction and Recycling – Rick Morgan

Fri. Jan. 25th, 6-8 pm –Self-Help Credit Union & Local Lending- Kristin Cox

Fri, Feb 1,  6 – 8 pm: Creating a Viable Future through Solidarity Economies by the Solidarity Economies Working Group of Occupy Chapel Hill-Carrboro.

Sat, Feb 9,  2 – 4 pm: Building Upcycled Cold Frames – Jacob Lewis

Sat. Mar. 23 – 2 pm  – Making Bottlecap Jewelry –a Repair Café event

Fri. Mar. 29 – 6 pm  – Science and Politics of  Natural Gas (Hydraulic) Fracturing in NC – by Bronwyn Fadem

Sat. Apr. 62 pmGetting your Spring Vegetable Garden Underway – with Harry Phillips, of NC WARN

Sat. Apr. 13 – 2 pm Shitake Mushroom workshop, by Dr John Mattox

Fri. Apr. 19 – 6 pm –Constructed Climate –Urban Ecologies, by Will Wilson

——————————————-

For events held in 2011-12 – See the About Our Events page.